California Voluntary Manslaughter Sentence and Punishment
Voluntary Manslaughter Sentence if Found Guilty in California
Voluntary manslaughter sentence and penalties in California are severe. For example, if you are convicted of voluntary manslaughter in California under Penal Code 192(a) PC, you will be sentenced to three, six or 11 years in state prison. However, you do not have to face these harsh consequences alone. You can rely on our experience and knowledge about the laws pertinent to voluntary manslaughter cases in California to ensure you and your family members receive the support and guidance needed during this challenging experience.
Voluntary Manslaughter is a “Strike Offense” in California
A conviction for voluntary manslaughter is considered a “strike offense” in California – which means it is one of the most serious crimes in our state. If you are convicted of voluntary manslaughter in California, you will have a “strike” on your criminal record. A strike means that if you are ever convicted of a felony in the future your possible sentence will double from what your sentence would have been. If you receive two strike offenses in your lifetime – that means if you ever are convicted of another felony strike offense in the future – your sentence will likely be 25 years to life in prison.
Options Available for You if Convicted of Voluntary Manslaughter in California
If you are found guilty of voluntary manslaughter, your team of experienced criminal attorneys at Wallin & Klarich will work to attempt to convince the judge not to sentence you to prison and to place you on probation instead. If the judge places you on probation for a voluntary manslaughter conviction, you will not go to prison. Instead, the court can sentence you to up to one year in county jail as a condition of probation.
If this happens, you will only have to do 50 percent of the county jail sentence. After you are released from custody, you will be assigned a probation officer who will monitor your conduct over the next three to five years. If you violate any of the terms of your probation, you will be brought back to court, and the judge who placed you on probation will have the option to send you to prison for three, six or 11 years.
Call Wallin & Klarich Today, and We will get Through This Together
As you can see, voluntary manslaughter sentence and penalties in California can be severe. If you are charged with this offense, it is very important that you get the help of a skilled and experienced criminal defense attorney. The attorneys with Wallin & Klarich have more than 30 years of experience in helping clients facing voluntary manslaughter charges. With offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville and West Covina, Wallin & Klarich will be there with you to provide you with the immediate assistance you need during this difficult time.
For a free phone consultation, call Wallin & Klarich today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or fill out our client information form. We will get through this together.