California Possession of Marijuana Lawyers
Do You Need a Marijuana Lawyer?
The marijuana attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have over 40 years of experience handling these cases in Southern California. Our attorneys have the skill and expertise to provide you with the best possible defense in your case.
Possession of marijuana is regulated by California Health and Safety Code 11357. Possessing marijuana can result in a six month jail sentence, fines and a misdemeanor conviction on your record. However, you face up to three years in state prison if you are convicted of felony possession of marijuana.
Call us today at (877) 466-5245 to receive expert legal advice about your case from one of our marijuana lawyers. Be sure to read on to learn more about drug laws so that you can be fully informed about your charges.
Why Hire Wallin & Klarich?
The success of our marijuana defense firm has helped us achieve the highest of merits, including a 5 out of 5 AV rating on Lawyers.com, a 10 out of 10 rating on AVVO.com, and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
For over 40 years, the marijuana defense lawyers at Wallin & Klarich have helped many people like you who have been charged with marijuana crimes. Here are just a few testimonials provided by some of our previous clients who wanted to share their stories:
“A simple ‘thank you’ can’t possibly express how much I appreciate your hard work, professionalism, and unwavering dedication to my case. I was accused of felony drug possession and driving while on a suspended license. I knew the district attorney was pushing for 3 years in state prison because of the seriousness of the offenses combined with my prior criminal record. You explained to me my rights and protections under the constitution and how the Fourth Amendment applied to my case. The motion you drafted to suppress evidence was powerful and explicitly written. The judge and district attorney must have agreed with your arguments because BOTH CHARGES WERE DISMISSED. Words cannot express the appreciation and relief I felt as I freely walked out of the courthouse with my Mom and kids. This is all thanks to my Wallin & Klarich attorney’s dedication and knowledge of the law pertaining to my case. I highly recommend the legal services of Wallin & Klarich to anyone who wants an attorney to stand by his or her side every step of the way to arduously fight to protect his or her rights and freedom.”
“When we needed a law firm to assist our daughter who was facing a serious drug offense, we didn’t know where to turn. Wallin & Klarich provided the professional legal representation and extraordinary guidance that helped my daughter overcome this challenge. I want to take time to thank all the staff at Wallin & Klarich Law Firm for your incredible support and consistent assistance during this very difficult time. Good to know that our family can rely on your group of professionals, whose resources are diligently dispensed in a timely manner. Thank you for successfully resolving my daughter’s case and for providing exceptional legal support. You have done an excellent job, and I highly recommend your services to anyone going through what our family went through.”
“I was charged with three felonies, possession for sales, transportation and cultivation of marijuana. Due to the persistence of Wallin & Klarich, all charges were dismissed against me. I am grateful to Wallin & Klarich and would recommend them to anyone else who is faced with criminal charges.”
Call Wallin & Klarich Today
You can place your trust in Wallin & Klarich. Our knowledgeable California marijuana lawyers are committed to defending your rights and your freedom. Call us today for immediate help on your marijuana case.
For more information on marijuana laws, read below or simply pick up the phone and speak to one of our skilled attorneys today.
Call us today at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free telephone consultation.
Sentencing and Punishment for Possession of Marijuana Under HS 11357
Possessing more than 28.5 grams of marijuana can result in misdemeanor conviction and subject the person to up to six months in county jail and a five hundred dollar fine ($500). However, possessing more than 28.5 grams of marijuana can be an indication that there was an intention to sell. This will subject the defendant to a felony conviction and up to three years in state prison. See California Health and Safety Code Section 11359.
Possessing not more than 28.5 grams of marijuana will result in a misdemeanor conviction and will most likely result in a fine of one hundred dollars ($100). However, if the defendant has three or more prior convictions of possessing marijuana within two years of the current charge, the defendant may be referred for education, treatment, or rehabilitation to an appropriate community program. See California Penal Code Section 1000.1, 1000.2.
Possession of marijuana charges also differ in punishment if the defendant is found to be in possession on school grounds. See California Health and Safety Code Section 11357(d)-(e). A defendant can also lose his or her driver’s license if convicted of possession of marijuana while driving and is under the age of 21. See California Vehicle Code Section 13202.5.
Call Wallin & Klarich Today if You Have Been Charged with Possession of Marijuana
If you are charged with possession of marijuana, it is critical that you talk to an attorney. At Wallin & Klarich, our attorneys will use their knowledge of the law to provide you with the best possible drug crime defense. Wallin & Klarich attorneys will aggressively defend you to ensure the judge takes into account all of the available options in your case. Contact the experienced Southern California criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich today at (877) 466-5245 for more valuable information. We will be there when you call.