I Am Accused of Assault And Battery in Riverside (PC 240 and 242)
The Riverside Assault and Battery Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been successfully defending clients charged with assault and battery in Riverside for over 40 years. Our attorneys have the skill and expertise to provide you with the best possible defense in your case.
Assault and Battery in Riverside
A battery (Penal Code § 242) is the willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another. This means, any physical contact with another person, to which that other person has not consented. An assault (Penal Code § 240) is an unlawful attempt, coupled with the present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another. There are two distinct acts that constitute an assault and a battery, but prosecutors frequently charge both crimes together. There are also other variations of assault and battery. For example, battery on a police officer (Penal Code § 243(c)), or battery on a spouse, or roommate (Penal Code § 273.5) are crimes that involve battery on a specific person.
If you use a weapon to commit an assault or battery in California, you may be charged with the more serious offense of assault with a deadly weapon (Penal Code § 245). Even if you only used your hands and fists during the assault, you may still be charged with assault with the intent to commit great bodily injury. This means that even a simple fist fight can lead to your arrest and imprisonment with a high bail amount.
Assault and Battery Punishment
If you are convicted of assault, you face up to 6 months in county jail and/or a $1,000 fine. If you are convicted of battery, you face up to 6 months in county jail and/or a $2,000 fine. For more serious battery offenses, such as battery on a police officer, you could face up to three years in custody and/or a $2,000 fine.
If you are convicted of assault with a deadly weapon, you could face up to four years in state prison and/or a fine up to $10,000. An assault with a deadly weapon conviction is punishable as a felony or misdemeanor, and may be considered a “strike” under California’s three strikes law.
In addition to your punishment, the court could issue a criminal protective order, or restraining order, against you. This can affect your current job, your ability to get another job and your ability to purchase a firearm, among many other things.
Riverside Assault and Battery Attorney
At Wallin & Klarich, we leave no stone unturned, including using the best private investigators available to get reductions and dismissals of charges of assault and battery. We contact every witness available and thoroughly review the history of the alleged victim to see if there are indications that the charges may be fabricated or overblown. We also use our knowledge of the law to break down the prosecutor’s case, charge by charge.
If you are confronted with accusations of assault and battery in Riverside, it is essential that you contact an experienced Riverside assault and battery attorney who is familiar with such cases. At Wallin & Klarich, we have offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura and Victorville. We have successfully represented clients facing assault and battery charges for over 40 years. We have the knowledge and the know-how to win your case. Call us today at 877-4-NO-JAIL or 877-466-5245. We will be there when you call.