Charged with Battery: Sentencing & Punishment – California Penal Code 242 PC
The sentence you face when charged with battery depends on the type of battery committed. However, no matter the type of battery committed, the sentence can still be severe and have a substantial impact on your life. The team of assault crimes lawyers at Wallin & Klarich can help to minimize these potentially severe penalties.
Sentencing and Punishment When Charged with Battery (CPC 243(a))
California law deems a traditional battery charge a misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine not exceeding two-thousand dollars ($2,000) or by imprisonment in county jail for a term not exceeding six months, or both. (CPC 243(a)).
Sentencing and Punishment for Battery against a Peace Officer (CPC 243(b) and (c))
If you are charged with battery against a peace officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician or paramedic (among others), you may face a fine not exceeding two-thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisonment in county jail for a term not exceeding one year, or both. The characterization of the alleged victim can have a significant impact on sentencing, so it is important that you consult with an assault crimes attorney in such a case.
Sentencing and Punishment for Battery that Causes Great Bodily Injury (CPC 243(d))
If you are charged with battery that causes the victim to suffer great bodily injury you may face felony charges. A battery that causes serious bodily injury is considered a violent felony and constitutes a strike under California’s “Three Strikes” legislation. This can lead to an even harsher sentence of imprisonment for two, three or four years. (CPC 1170(h)). The assault crimes lawyers at Wallin & Klarich are well-versed in the “Three Strikes” legislation. They will work with you to best ensure that you avoid the potentially devastating consequences of this rigid law.
Sentencing and Punishment for Sexual Battery (CPC 243.4)
Charges for sexual battery (CPC 243.4) carry serious sentencing and penalty consequences. Under California law, sexual battery can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor. If the prosecutor decides to charge as a felony, you may face imprisonment as well as a “strike” on your criminal record.
If you are charged with sexual battery you may be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year and by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or in the alternative by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years and by a fine not exceeding ten-thousand dollars ($10,000). (CPC 243.4(a)). The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich can walk you through the possible consequences of your case depending on the exact circumstances.
Call Wallin & Klarich When Charged With Battery
The assault crimes attorneys at Wallin & Klarich understand the gravity of sentencing and punishment decisions. We are here to help you navigate these complex sentencing structures and avoid potentially severe penalties.
With over 30 years of experience and offices in Orange County, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, Victorville, and West Covina, the attorneys at Wallin & Klarich are here to help defend you against battery charges.
Please consult our offices to discuss your options by calling at (877) 466-5245. We will be there when you call.