Criminal Act of Having Sex With a Minor

Criminal Act of Having Sex With a Minor

Engaging in sexual intercourse with a minor is a serious criminal offense in California. The exact offense you will be charged with for having sex with a minor depends upon your age and the age of the alleged victim. Our skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been successfully defending clients facing charges for having sex with a minor for more than 35 years. Let’s examine…

Read More

How Can A Certificate of Rehabilitation Help Me?

Serving a sentence for a criminal conviction is frequently referred to as “repaying your debt to society.” However, repaying a debt implies that once the debt is paid, the debtor’s life returns to normal as if the debt never existed. This is not the case if you are convicted of a crime. Your conviction will continue to interfere with your life long after you have completed your sentence. How do…

Read More

A Certificate of Rehabilitation May Help You Be Removed from Internet Disclosure

If you are convicted of a sex crime in California, you face extremely harsh penalties. Not only do you face prison time and expensive fines, you also face lifetime registration as a sex offender. Under Megan’s Law, your name and personal information will appear on a public website for anyone to see. This punishment could feel like having a scarlet letter permanently attached to you. That is why you should…

Read More
courtroom defendant judge lawyer attorney

The Criminal Act of Having Sex with a Minor: Statutory Rape (PC 261.5)

Under California Penal Code Section 261.5, it is illegal to have sexual intercourse with a person who is under the age of 18 and is not your spouse. Let’s further explore the criminal act of having sex with a minor. What If the Minor Initiates Sex? When most people think of “rape,” they think of sexual intercourse against the will of the victim accomplished by violence, force or fear. However,…

Read More

Can You Be Charged with Raping Your Spouse? (PC 262)

As unbelievable as it sounds, for a long time, California law did not recognize the fact that you could rape your spouse. Unfortunately, to this day, many people still think “It’s not rape if it’s with my spouse.” It wasn’t until the late 1970s that California passed Penal Code 262, making it a crime to rape your spouse. Let’s explore this important spousal rape law. What is Spousal Rape? (PC…

Read More

Key Differences Between Statutory Rape and Lewd Acts with a Minor (PC 261.5 and PC 288)

In some cases, the crimes of statutory rape and lewd or lascivious acts involving a minor could seem interchangeable. Both crimes involve sexual activity with a person under the age of 18. However, there are significant differences between these two crimes. Let’s explore the differences between statutory rape and lewd acts with a minor. Statutory Rape (PC 261.5) vs Lewd or Lascivious Act with a Child (PC 288) Under PC…

Read More
spousal rape laws

Facts about Spousal Rape Charges in Irvine – PC Section 262

Many people do not think they can be charged with a crime for raping their spouse. However, there is actually a specific area of law in California that makes spousal rape a crime. This crime is covered under California Penal Code Section 262. The Irvine spousal rape attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have more than 35 years of experience successfully defending people accused of sex crimes in Irvine. If you are…

Read More

Will I Go To Jail For Statutory Rape In Los Angeles? (PC 261.5)

Under California Penal Code 261.5, it is illegal to engage in sexual intercourse with a minor who is not your spouse. The district attorney has wide discretion in prosecuting statutory rape cases. In many statutory rape cases, the alleged victim or the victim’s family experiences a change of heart after finding out the harsh penalties for statutory rape and no longer wishes to press charges against the accused. However, immediately…

Read More
sexual molestation

What Does the Prosecution Have to Prove to Convict of Sexual Molestation?

Sexual molestation is considered a very serious crime in California. If you are charged with child molestation under California Penal Code Section 288, you face severe consequences. A conviction of lewd or lascivious acts involving a minor under 14 years of age is a felony offense that carries a sentence of up to eight years in prison and expensive fines. In addition, you will likely be required to register as…

Read More
Certificate of Rehabilitation to stop registration

How A Certificate of Rehabilitation Can Stop Sex Offender Registration

Sex offenders have not only been the top stories of most local news broadcasts, but due to recent crimes in California, sex offenders are now a topic of interest in the White House. The Adam Walsh Act was signed by President George W. Bush, and it promised to create a national registry of sex offenders to keep closer track of the most violent of them. However, due to lack of…

Read More
X