California Vehicle Code Section 23103 is reckless driving and is defined as driving a vehicle with “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” The offense is a misdemeanor offense and has the potential consequence of jail time for the offender.
At issue will be the rate of speed of the vehicle, whether there was any swerving, tailgating, or any other observations of behavior indicating a willful or wanton disregard for safety of people or property.
The punishment for reckless driving includes a potential sentence of 90 days in jail and fines of up to $1000. This offense will also count as 2 points on your driving record with the DMV, as well as result in an increase in auto insurance rates.
An offense of reckless driving involving alcohol – wet reckless – is most often a plea bargain agreement for reducing charges from a DUI offense/charge.
A wet reckless typically involves a fine and classes for wet reckless as part of a plea bargain agreement. Again, other consequences include points on your DMV record and an increase in your auto insurance premiums.
If you or someone you love has been accused of a DUI offense or reckless driving offense in California, contact the experienced San Bernardino criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich today at 1-888-749-0034 or for a consultation of your case. We can help you.
- » 4 Common California Traffic Violations
- » 5 Defenses to Reckless Driving an Attorney Can Raise for You
- » California Woman Gets 3 Speeding Tickets in Under an Hour and a Misdemeanor Charge for Good Measure
- » What Is Reckless Driving in California? – CVC 23103
- » Have You Been Charged With Reckless Driving?