What You Need to Know About DMV Hearings/License Suspension
If you are arrested for a DUI, in most cases the police officer who makes the arrest will seize your drivers license and provide you with a “pink paper”. This event starts the clock ticking. You have only ten days to arrange to have a DMV hearing set. If you fail to do this you will automatically surrender your right to a hearing. The impact of this decision will mean that your driving privilege will be suspended thirty days from the date of your arrest.
You do not want this to happen to you.
The California DMV Hearing Attorneys at Wallin and Klarich represent hundreds of clients each year who retain our services to demand a DMV hearing. Many times because of our efforts and evidence presented at the DMV hearing we win these hearings for our client. This means that the DMV returns our clients drivers license to them and there is no suspension of their driving privilege. When our law firm receives a date for the DMV hearing that means that your license will remain valid pending the outcome of the DMV hearing. We urge you to strongly consider retaining our law firm immediately after our arrest for a DUI so we can do all we can to preserve your driving privilege.
If your license is suspended after a first-time DUI arrest, you will spend at least 30 days with no driver’s license at all. After that, you can get a temporary restricted license by paying a $125 fee to the DMV, filling out a form and showing proof that you’re enrolled in a court-ordered alcohol program. Unfortunately, this restricted license allows you to drive only to work and to the alcohol classes. If you don’t follow those rules, or if you drive with a suspended license, the penalties are 10 days to six months in county jail, plus a fine of anywhere from $300 to $1,000. The law doesn’t care whether you need to drive to look for a job, take care of your family or perform other daily tasks. That’s why it’s so important to call Wallin & Klarich to help you fight to avoid a license suspension.
At the administrative hearing, Wallin & Klarich will often fight your license suspension by challenging the technical grounds for your arrest and charges. For example, our attorneys might examine whether the police officers who pulled you over had a reasonable cause to believe you were driving under the influence; whether your arrest was lawful; or whether your blood-alcohol concentration was truly over the legal limit. Even if the DMV decides that your license should be suspended, Wallin & Klarich may still be able to reverse that decision if you are found not guilty of your DUI in court.
DMV hearings are complex, technical and stressful for the person whose license is on the line. With a Wallin & Klarich DMV hearing lawyer by your side at the hearing and in court, you can increase your chance of keeping your license. We have the experience and knowledge to help. Call us today for a free evaluation of your case.
The DMV Hearing Lawyers at Wallin & Klarich approach every case with the belief that the person we’re defending could easily be one of our own family members. We’ve seen firsthand how stressful legal matters can be for our clients and their loved ones. We are committed to being available to our clients at all times — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. If you or someone you love is facing a driver’s license suspension in Southern California, you should call Wallin & Klarich today for a free evaluation of your case. Call 1-888-749-0034 or fill out our online consultation form to get in contact with a legal professional today.